{phx} it’s been a desert kind of year

July 26, 2009

One year ago today, I stepped off the plane at Sky Harbor airport with a suitcase, a blue duffle bag and a backpack. My photographer friend who was also a fellow at the Arizona Republic and who started a couple weeks before I did picked me up from the airport and brought me to Tempe. It was my second time in Arizona. (My family visited the Grand Canyon probably 12 years ago.) Two days later I started a 10-week fellowship at the paper. Three weeks later, I walked into a church meeting at a middle school less than a mile from where I was living in phx. It’s a good thing I did because that’s where I’ve met all my phx friends and all the amazing people who’ve helped me in countless ways this past year, especially those who have given me rides considering my lack of car. I’ve been saying this whole year I plan on  getting a car eventually. It’ll happen … eventually.

phoenix
No, I don’t love this place, but it’s where I’m supposed to be, for now.

7 Responses to “{phx} it’s been a desert kind of year”

  1. erj said

    wow one year ago?! so longggg.

  2. Glad you’re doing well there in Phoenix, Allisence.

    Buy a car? You? Heh. I’ll believe it when I see it! 🙂

  3. so bored! said

    I WASNT THERE WHEN U VISITED WAS I????????????????????

  4. Jacob said

    buy a car or acquire a car? haha

  5. G said

    1 year huh? i can’t believe i’ve been here 1 year too!

Leave a Reply

