{phx} ornament marketplace

November 26, 2011

When I moved to the desert, I started hearing about people who collected ornaments for their Christmas tree. Growing up, I always just assumed Christmas tree ornaments were just the ones you bought in a 24-count set from Target or wherever. I’m sure people beyond the desert also have this tradition, I just never heard about it until I moved here.

And now that Thanksgiving is over, it’s officially become acceptable to put up your Christmas tree and listen to Christmas music all day long. I’m guessing this is when families pull out their highly-prized ornaments and carefully hang them on their trees. I don’t have a Christmas tree and have no plans on buying a tree, but I can see how ornaments with special meanings can be a good way to collect memories and meaningful mementos. So if I was a person who cared about Christmas ornaments, I would totally visit the Heard Museum Ornament Marketplace at both the Phoenix and Scottsdale Heard Museums. They’re selling tons and tons of handcrafted ornaments and other holiday gifts this Thanksgiving weekend.


Courtesy of sxc.hu

2 Responses to “{phx} ornament marketplace”

  1. Yes, we always buy one or two tree decorations on our American vacations. My favourite is of four reindeers riding a chairlift – from Heavenly ski resort.

  2. "sanjie" said

    yeah that is definitely not just a desert thing haha

Leave a Reply

