[good reads] front of the class

March 22, 2015

goodreads-header

goodreads-frontclassThe other day, I opened up my mailbox and noticed something thick inside jumbled up with all the ads and flyers and things I put straight into the trash/recycle. It was a book! I wondered why I was getting a book in the mail. Well, it turned out that the Council for Exceptional Children, a professional organization that I belong to, sent it to me because our annual conference is coming up and the author is the keynote speaker at the conference. I was sad to be reminded that I wouldn’t be able to attend the conference nor get the author’s autograph, but happy to have the opportunity to read this book nonetheless.

Front of the Class: How Tourette Syndrome Made Me the Teacher I Never Had by Brad Cohen was an easy autobiographical read, but full of inspiring anecdotes that reminded me why I got into teaching in the first place. It makes you really think about every interaction you have with your students because even though they seem insignificant, they can have a lasting impression on a child’s life. At the same time, it was amazing to see how Brad overcame everything working against him to become the person he is today. He holds high standards for himself and his future despite having Tourette Syndrome and that’s exactly what I want to do for my students!

One Response to “[good reads] front of the class”

  1. attrace said

    I love it when free books are actually good!

Leave a Reply

