[good reads] where’d you go bernadette

April 12, 2015

goodreads-header

goodreads-wheredyougo I had been away from the Phoenix Public Library for awhile, mainly because I had moved farther away from the main branch and didn’t have my ASU all inclusive Valley Metro card anymore. In other words, going to the library was going to cost me money, so I just hadn’t gone for awhile.

Anyway, last Wednesday, I finally made the trek there borrowed a few books that have been on my TO READ list, including Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple. This book turned out to be an easy read though I was a little skeptical at first. The reason is because almost the entire book is told through correspondences: faxes, emails, and letters. This makes it a bit difficult for the reader to really understand who all the characters are in the very beginning as well as how they are all related. The timeline is also a little confusing because correspondences are sometimes sent after an event happens and the reader doesn’t find out what the event is until after reading the correspondence. Despite this though, I do have to say that this is one of my favorite books that I’ve read of late.

On another note, I will definitely say that I absolutely love the cover of the book though. In fact, it might be one of my favorites. The main character Bernadette Fox is perfectly portrayed with the dark round lenses she always wears when out in public, her mouth slightly open as if astonished by what she is seeing, and the blue triangles behind her, which I can only assume represent Antarctica. I bet you want to know why Antarctica is important … well, you’ll have to read the book to find out!

3 Responses to “[good reads] where’d you go bernadette”

  1. annalice said

    this looks like a good one! what else is on your to read list??

  2. attrace said

    I feel like I haven’t read for fun in awhile. Definitely need to start up a list!

Leave a Reply

