[good reads] 41

May 10, 2015

goodreads-header

goodreads-41Since I’ve been going to the library more, I’ve been able to be more in tune with some of the newer books. Yes, I know that a library’s new books are not the newest books on the market, but I just can’t imagine paying so much money for a real book anymore!

Anyway, one of Phoenix Public Library (Burton Barr Branch’s) newest editions is 41: A Portrait of My Father by George W. Bush. I was excited when I saw this book because I had heard offhandedly from someone who is not particularly a Bush-supporter that the book itself is quite good. I knew I just had to read this book. It turned out that the book was pretty easy read. It’s not like some biographies that get really bogged down in details so that readers feel lost. Even though I’m not particularly familiar with the Bush clan, I was able to follow along who all the people were and really learned some insights about George H.W. Bush. It’s nice to read about other people’s lives no matter how close or far their political beliefs are from yours. I mean, I had no idea about all the governmental positions he held before becoming president. And it was super interesting to read about his time in China, the ties he made while there, and how those became vitally important to his time as leader of the United States. What a great read!

Besides, since it’s Mother’s Day, I will also point out that George Bush talks about his mother and her influence in this book quite a bit!

2 Responses to “[good reads] 41”

  1. attrace said

    would love to read this some day!

Leave a Reply

