{los angeles} egg slut

July 29, 2015

sisterposts-header

Eggslut is something that I came across months ago on Instagram. Their feed was filled with cheesy, gooey, breakfasty goodness that made my mouth water endlessly. And with that name? I knew I had to try it. Living in San Diego though, sometimes it’s hard to head up to Los Angeles on a whim, so when I finally made it up there, I was ecstatic.

Walking up to Eggslut, I was surprised it wasn’t a quaint, little cafe. I’m not sure why I had that impression of it but what I saw was so much better. It was at the front of the Grand Central Market. It was all hustle and bustle and got me so much more excited. It’s sandwiched between a juicing counter and a Mexican food counter. The line was super long, but the end result was definitely worth the wait.

There’s not too many items on the menu but they are known for their eggy, cheesy sandwiches as well as what they call the ‘slut’: “a coddled egg on top of a potato purée.” When you get to the counter, they also have an assortment of drinks, including fresh orange juice and boxed water!!!! I decided to try this boxed water for the first time, it’s really nothing special. It looks cool though.

My friends and I decided to just try the sandwiches and not the slut because it seemed a little overpriced to us. We got the Bacon, Egg, and Cheese, the Sausage, Egg, and Cheese, as well as the Fairfax with Bacon (pictured below). They were all pretty incredible. I would say this place is a must-try if you’re ever in the LA area!

la-eggslut1
Welcome!

la-eggslut2
Bacon, Egg, and Cheese

la-eggslut3
Fairfax with Bacon

2 Responses to “{los angeles} egg slut”

  1. annalice said

    that looks really yummy! you didnt get what they are known for? hahah

  2. allisence said

    So that’s where that boxed water is from…

Leave a Reply

