[good reads] is everyone hanging out without me?

August 23, 2015

goodreads-header

goodreads-everyonehangingoutRecently I took a trip with my youngest sister, who happens to own Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling, so I decided to read it. I’ll admit I was pretty excited especially since I watch (or watched) The Mindy Show and love her humor.

Personally I feel like it’s a little bit hard to describe what this book is actually about because it’s kind of about everything. Really, it’s just about life and all the things a person thinks about, worries about throughout their life. It’s very real and extremely authentic because I mean why else would she put out there pictures of her parents and then another of herself in ridiculous round glasses?

I also appreciate how each chapter doesn’t need to flow into a storyline about her life. In fact, there are some very abrupt beginnings and endings to chapters, but she makes that OK because it’s related to her train of thought. Reading this book is kind of like spending a day in Mindy Kaling’s brain, is the only thing I can liken it to. What do you think?

One Response to “[good reads] is everyone hanging out without me?”

  1. annalice said

    i read this too! it was a lot of random strung together thoughts, but i liked it

Leave a Reply

