[room 113a] communication @ home

October 15, 2015

room113-header

I have a confession to make: I love going on home visits.

Most teachers I’ve met don’t like home visits. Some are scared of them and won’t without another teacher. And, in general, most dread them because it’s not like home visits are all that necessary for parents who are super involved. The point is, though, is that no matter who my students are, I just love visiting them at home. I particularly love not telling the parents that I’m coming by and just showing up at their home! That may sound crazy (I’ve had some people tell me that). In the five years that I’ve been doing these surprise home visits, never have the visits been negative and they have absolutely always improved the parents’ willingness to work with me on multiple levels.

Last week, I went on a home visit to J’s house. I actually went with another teacher this time because J has a twin brother in a kindergarten class. During our conversation with the family, mom asked if we would be able to help with some of the communication frustrations J is experiencing at home. J has a severe speech and language impairment. At school, since things are extremely structured (and I’m an amazing interpreter, haha) I generally know what J is saying. At home, however, it’s much more difficult, so mom came up with a list of things J likes and I used my favorite program Boardmaker to make a lanyard for him to wear and use at home. Now if that isn’t a home visit success story, I don’t know what is!

rm113a-communicationhome
J’s new lanyard for home

One Response to “[room 113a] communication @ home”

  1. annalice said

    that is a great success story! home visits make things very personal and show you care, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

