{nyc} it’s korilla time

November 11, 2015

sisterposts-header

The first time I heard about Korilla was on The Great Food Truck Race on Food Network. A Korean-Mexican fusion sounded so odd, yet so amazing. I was a huge fan, so I was pretty devastated when they ended up cheating on the show. Despite the disappointment, I still really wanted to try their food.

When I got to New York, I was told to explore St. Marks Place. The first thing that I noticed was an entirely tiger striped painted building with Korilla’s logo smack in the middle. I was surprised because I thought they only food trucks, but I was ecstatic that their restaurant was so close to my dorm.

ammagrace-korilla1

I finally got the chance to try it for my friend’s birthday. The set-up for ordering was a lot like Chipotle.

ammagrace-korilla2

I ordered a Bulgogi Rice Bowl with bean sprouts, salsa verde, and monterey jack cheese. I topped it with the Korilla Sauce. It was amazing. It was so full of flavor and the Mexican and Korean mix was incredibly interesting. The portion was also pretty large. For a drink, I had wanted to try the Korchata, but they had run out so I ordered the Green Dream, which tasted… healthy.

ammagrace-korilla3

My friends ordered a Hot Chix burrito and the other also ordered a Bulgogi Rice Bowl with different sides and a fried egg on top. They both really enjoyed their meals. One friend ordered the Korean Orangeade, which I thought was better than the Green Dream. Together, we shared the KimCheese Fries which I highly recommend. I never thought that Kimchi and Cheese could work together, but it was delicious.

ammagrace-korilla4

ammagrace-korilla5

In addition to the food, the seating area was small, but cozy. There were drawings on the wall which I found to be cute and nice to be surrounded by.

ammagrace-korilla7

ammagrace-korilla6

ammagrace-korilla8

As a whole, I very much enjoyed Korilla. I still want to try the food truck, but I would definitely return to the restaurant.

Leave a Reply

