looking for 8½w shoes

November 18, 2015

dadposts-header

dadposts-8halfw1

I am blessed or cursed with wide feet. Not large feet, I wear size 8½. The bridge part of my feet are wide, or rather thick. Hence, wide size, 8½W please.

The problem: the last time I saw a pair of 8½W, it was about 5 years ago. That was when I bought my last pair of really comfortable casual shoes. Shoes that I can wear 12 hours a day, without socks, and not worry about getting any blisters. That pair worn out a few months ago. I have been looking for a pair of 8½W ever since.

dadposts-8halfw2 These days, in the self-service and no-back-stockroom shoe stores, most stock are Medium. They don’t stock wide shoes. It’s not effective use of their store space. There is just not enough customers needing W shoes, to make it profitable to stock W shoes. Actually, I don’t disagree with the economic argument. But, understanding it, doesn’t make it any easier.

dadposts-8halfw3

Often, I have to go up to 9½M, or even larger, before I find shoes that don’t hurt my feet. But, 9½ feels like wearing Ronald McDonald’s clown shoes.

 

 

dadposts-8halfw4

Here, there are 3 pairs of W shoes, not bad. Alas, they are sizes 11 or larger. It’s not going to get any easier. The stores are not going to stock many W shoes. These days, when I find comfortable shoes, I buy 3 pairs. Just so I have my own stock of 8½W.

One Response to “looking for 8½w shoes”

  1. annalice said

    how were those shoes you bought here in connecticut baba??

Leave a Reply

