{sf} what’s an urban fish?

December 22, 2015

What’s an urban fish? Is an urban fish a fish that happens to live in the city? Or is an urban fish a fish that’s from the city? Or, if we’re talking about food, is an urban fish a fish that’s plated and served in the city; or is an urban fish a fish that was raised in the city, but could be served anywhere?

Anyway, I sent to a restaurant in the Mission (San Francisco) called Urban Fish. My friend told me that the place must have recently changed its name because it didn’t used to be called Urban Fish though the food is still similar (vegetarian, or rather, pesceterian). They serve locally grown vegetables and wild-caught seafood. I guess that tells me urban fish are not fish that were raised in the city then. Anyway, even though I’m not vegetarian, because this is a seafood place, I didn’t feel limited in my food options. In fact, everything was so delicious, especially the macaroni and cheese!

sf-urbanfish1
Don’t you just love that logo?

sf-urbanfish2
Buffalo fish

sf-urbanfish3
Clam Chowder

sf-urbanfish4
Po’boy with Mac & Cheese

Leave a Reply

