[good reads] the mitten

January 10, 2016

goodreads-header

goodreads-mittenI’ve finally gotten back into the swing of reading again with school back in session and little less traveling in the foreseeable future. This means I haven’t actually finished any of the books I’ve started though so in the mean time, I’ll share with you one of my favorite children’s books that I happened to have read with my class last week. Jan Brett’s The Mitten is one of my favorites because it’s such a fun story based on a Ukranian folktale and also there’s so much you can teach using it! I use it for characters, setting, seasons, and sequencing. It’s also a fun book to use to distinguish reality and fantasy because even my students understand that a bear cannot fit inside a little white mitten. For some of my lower functioning students, I also use this book to reinforce the color white, which can be associated both with the snow and the white mitten that the character Nicki wanted then lost then found. The only part I don’t like is the mouse since I am deathly afraid of rodents. Other than that though, my students really enjoyed cutting out all the characters and putting them into a giant paper mitten they made themselves!

One Response to “[good reads] the mitten”

  1. annalice said

    one of my favorite childhood books!

Leave a Reply

