{sf} la santaneca’s papusas

January 23, 2016

Papusas are widely available in San Francisco, not because they were invented here in the City, but because there are so many El Salvadoreans who live here! And papusas are a staple food in El Salvador. In fact, I have a student who is El Salvadorean.

Anyway, having never been to the country of El Salvador or an El Salvadorean restaurant before, I knew that I had to get my butt to one soon so that I could try some traditional papusas ASAP. When some of my friends were in town recently, we decided to meet up and try some of these famous papusas since they had never tried any before either. We decided on La Santaneca, which has two locations, one of which is quite close to where I used to live. It turns out that I am a huge fan of papusas, especially the ones that are stuffed with cheese and other delicious ingredients. I did realize they are quite similar to Colombian arepas, which was good for me to know. Yum, yum, yum!

sf-santaneca1
Welcome!

sf-santaneca2
Papusas!

One Response to “{sf} la santaneca’s papusas”

  1. annalice said

    mmmmhmmm these look yummy!! maybe you should travel to el salvador on your next trip!

Leave a Reply

