[good reads] snow on snow on snow

January 24, 2016

goodreads-header

goodreads-snowonsnowWe’ve been reading about winter in my class. Usually I have my go-to winter books that eventually lead the class into a Clifford series study. This year, I decided to change it up a bit though and I found some new winter books in our school library. The selection was quite limited due to most of the books being in storage (due to construction). However, I did come across Snow on Snow on Snow by Cheryl Chapman.

At first, I wasn’t so sure about this book, but then I realized that it was actually the perfect level for my students. There was a lot of repetition; it had a simple story line; the main character and setting were easy to identify; and it featured a young black boy. This might seem like a strange thing to point out, but as my school is gearing up for its annual African American Heritage Festival, this is actually quite perfect! Big fan of this book!

Leave a Reply

