[room 113a] dim sum for everyone

April 14, 2016

room113-header

My class is getting an early start on Asian American Heritage Month. Even though our school doesn’t celebrate it until May, I’ve decided that there’s just so many aspects of Asian heritage to explore that we’re going to engage in this topic for a longer period of time. As a result, we just started reading a book called Dim Sum for Everyone by Grace Lin. At the end of the week, we made our own dim sum meal to invite others to. It turned out to be quite fun and inter-disciplinary!

rm113a-dimsum1
Hard at work

rm113a-dimsum2
My finished product

rm113a-dimsum6
Come to my dim sum meal because I have lots of food.

rm113a-dimsum4
Come to my dim sum meal because I have food.

rm13a-dimsum3
Come to my dim sum meal because I see lots of food.

rm113a-dimsum5
Come to my dim sum meal because I like the tofu.

3 Responses to “[room 113a] dim sum for everyone”

  1. Suaylia said

    That’s beautiful that your class has a head start on Asian heritage month!

    I never had that opportunity so that is wonderful!

  2. guaipai said

    Grace Lin’s books are great check out where the mountain meets the moon and ugly vegetables. My kids loved the cultural references to their heritage

  3. annalice said

    i thought you actually took them on a field trip to dim sum!

Leave a Reply

