[room 113a] dear juno’s grandmother

April 28, 2016

room113-header

Last week my class read Dear Juno by Soyung Pak. In this book, Juno receives a letter from his grandmother who lives in a small town outside of Seoul. The problem is that Juno doesn’t know how to read Korean. Juno, however, is very intuitive and figures out, based on the artifacts that grandmother sends (a dried flower and a picture of her and a cat) that grandmother must be growing new flowers and has a new pet cat. When his mom finally gets a chance to read him the book, Juno finds out that he had guessed correctly. From then on, Juno and grandmother start communicating through pictures, drawings, and other artifacts that they can send through the mail.

In class, I decided to build on this idea. My class sent a package to Juno’s grandmother, too. We put artifacts that we find around school to represent different parts of our school day. The students each wrote about a sentence to explain each of the items and then we sealed it up to “send” to South Korea!

rm113-dearjuno1

rm113-dearjuno2
I like sight words because it helps me read books.

rm113-dearjuno3
I like free choice because I play with bears.

rm113-dearjuno4
I like reading groups because I like to read books.

rm113-dearjuno5
I like math because I like numbers and math problem.

rm113-dearjuno6
I like writing because I like to write stories. I like to write the letters.

rm113-dearjuno7
I like SSR because I like reading by myself.

One Response to “[room 113a] dear juno’s grandmother”

  1. annalice said

    very creative!! i like it!

Leave a Reply

