{sf} pica pica arepas

May 17, 2016

Have you been to Colombia before? I am so excited to say that I have! I’m really not trying to brag here, but sometimes it’s just so exciting to get the chance to say that you’ve been somewhere before. I can only do that with random countries in South America though because unlike the rest of the world that goes to Europe, I’ve never been to Europe.

But I digress. I was wicked excited to find out that there was a Colombian arepas restaurant in the Mission right here in San Francisco. Of course I just had to go try this place out! When I was in Colombia, I was a poor college student so my friends and I would buy cheap arepas from street carts and only buy the queso (cheese)-filled ones because they were the cheapest. The arepas at Pica Pica were quite a bit fancier than our Colombian street cart arepas though!

sf-picapica1
Welcome!

sf-picapica2
Very colorful menu, which was actually kind of hard to read

sf-picapica3
Vegetariana Arepa • grilled tofu, avocado, plantains, black beans purée, aioli

sf-picapica4
Shuli Cachapas • spicy black beans, tomatoes, red onios, avocado, cilantro

One Response to “{sf} pica pica arepas”

  1. annalice said

    mmm, there is an arepas place in nyc that I have been too. pretty good!

Leave a Reply

