{sf} museum for everything asian

May 30, 2016

The Asian Art Museum will occasionally have free admission days (thanks to Target, I think). This is always nice because who doesn’t love getting to visit a museum for free when it normally costs money. I just love that feeling! Anyway, my sister was in the City for work and stayed a day extra so we were looking for some things to do during her extra time here. It just so happened that this was during one of the Asian’s free admission days (back in March)! So we went. I feel like one of the best things about going to a museum for free is that I can enjoy it without feeling pressured to “get my money’s worth”. This meant that there were certain sections like with all the millions of Buddhas that I just didn’t want to spend all that much time in, so I strolled through it pretty quickly. When I pay for admission though, I feel pressured to look at everything more closely, which is both good and bad.

Anyway, I particularly enjoyed the special maps exhibit at the Asian. And the Islamic art section really reminded me of an art museum I visited in Kuala Lumpur, which I thought was just so cool since it’s stuff we don’t see on a regular basis.

An Asian photo adventure:

sf-asianmuseum1

sf-asianmuseum2

sf-asianmuseum3

sf-asianmuseum4

sf-asianmuseum5

sf-asianmuseum6

sf-asianmuseum7

sf-asianmuseum8

One Response to “{sf} museum for everything asian”

  1. annalice said

    i need to go to more free admission museum days since i always feel like i didnt get my money’s worth!

Leave a Reply

