[good reads] geek love

August 14, 2016

goodreads-header

goodreads-geekloveBefore my most recent library visit, I decided to look up some books that everyone should read before they die. It just so happens that a couple of the lists I perused mentioned Geek Love by Katherine Dunn. Not knowing anything about this book, I decided to hunt it down at the library and found it.

Like any modern individual, I assumed that this would be a book about high school geeks or something. That made sense in my head. Little did I know, there’s a whole other meaning to the word geek. According to the last definition in the dictionary, a geek is “a carnival performer who performs sensationally morbid or disgusting acts, as biting off the head of a live chicken.” WHAT?!?!?

Well, I’m glad I looked this up because that’s the type of geek that the author is writing about here. In fact, she writes about an entire family of carnival performers. The weirdest part though is that it starts with two pretty typical parents who decide that they want to create geek children. The mom ingests all kinds of crazy drug cocktails while pregnant and each kid turns of stranger than the next except for the albino dwarf with a hunchback that’s the narrator of the story. I don’t even know how else to describe this book. You seriously just have to read it for yourself … besides, it’s award winning!

One Response to “[good reads] geek love”

  1. annalice said

    this sounds SO odd but very interesting!

Leave a Reply

