{sf} brenda’s cajun food

September 13, 2016

Ever since moving to San Francisco, I’ve been hearing about Brenda’s French Soul Food and I’ve been trying to get myself there. When I first heard about it, I was told that the brunch is so amazing so I actually went there with a friend a couple of months back, but the wait was over 2 hours long so we decided to leave. I’ve been sad about this, but all is well that ends well because my family was in town recently … and my sister heard that Brenda’s actually has pretty good food the rest of the day, too, so we decided to give this place a try.

The second best part is that we didn’t have to wait at all! The best part, of course, was the amazing food! We ordered a couple of dishes and shared everything, which was the best idea because then we all got to try every dish. Personally, I thought the Crawfish Beignets were a little weird because I usually associated beignets with powdered sugar so biting into them and tasting the savory was strange, albeit still delicious. One of the specials for the night was the Shrimpo Potpie, which was stuffed with perfectly cooked shrimp. The BFG (Brenda’s Fried Chicken) was also perfectly fried, but I think my favorite dish of the night was the catfish, which had just enough spice to make it all that more delicious. What a great dinner! Now if only I can get up early enough on a Saturday to make it here early enough to not have to wait two hours to get in for lunch!

sf-brendas1
Welcome!

sf-brendas2
Watermelon Iced Tea

sf-brendas3
BFC (Brenda’s Fried Chicken)

sf-brendas4
Catfish des Allemands

sf-brendas5
Shrimp Potpie (special)

sf-brendas6
Crawfish Beignets 

2 Responses to “{sf} brenda’s cajun food”

  1. annalice said

    wow this food looks quite amazing, sad I missed out on this one!

  2. attrace said

    The “watermelon” iced tea was probably the most disappointing part!

Leave a Reply

