[room 209m] week five gems

September 22, 2016

room209-header

I feel like maybe this series has just become an ode to my school’s art teacher, but she’s just so good with my students I just have to share all the awesome projects she does with my students. This week, she write their names on cardboard paper and had them glue gems onto their names. This may not sound that exciting, but this was actually a well thought out project that was amazing for my students.

  1. Many of my students have fine motor deficits. Picking up small gems was great to help develop their fine motor skills.
  2. My lower functioning students are working on learning how to write their name so this was perfect for their academic level.
  3. My higher functioning students could use this activity to work on patterning and creativity.
  4. This project is easily differentiated (in terms of level of independence and support) to meet each student’s needs.

I think these gem-ed names turned out pretty awesome. What do you think?

rm209m-gems1

rm209m-gems2

One Response to “[room 209m] week five gems”

  1. attrace said

    aww that’s so creative!

Leave a Reply

