[good reads] from head to toe

September 25, 2016

goodreads-header

goodreads-fromheadtotoeI know I’ve pretty much read every since Eric Carle book out there. For some reason though, I had never read From Head to Toe even though I’ve known about its existence for years and years. Recently, my class has been on an Eric Carle binge and we read a bunch of his books. I found a big book copy of From Head to Toe and decided to finally pull it out. This was literally one of the best ideas ever! My kids absolutely loved this book, especially acting out all the different body movements that the animals were able to do. I thought it was the best book to keep my students engaged in a long lesson on the carpet, teach them body parts, and have them work on recognizing animals all at the same time. What an amazing book – I can’t believe it took me until now to read it!

5 Responses to “[good reads] from head to toe”

  1. Thank you for sharing your students encounters with this book! Eric Carle is a wonderful author of many children’s books! I love how your students are interacting with this book and learning many new skills. Reading and connecting the words to other objects is a very beneficial skill that will come in handy to all ages. Carle does a wonderful job bringing vibrant colors to the pages of his work. “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” and “The Mixed-Up Chameleon” are two of my favorite pieces by this author. What made your class enjoy this book the most? I now look forward to giving this book a read!

  2. attrace said

    Oohh I love Eric Carle, but I hadn’t heard of this one before!

  3. annalice said

    my favorite is the caterpillar book!

Leave a Reply

