{kuala lumpur} all islamic art

October 17, 2016

Across the street from Masjid Negara (the National Mosque of Malaysia) is the Islamic Art Museum Malaysia. With all that this giant museum has to offer, I didn’t question paying the admission fee (RM14 adults, RM7 students), especially with my grad school ID still handy.

Seriously I could have walked around this place for an entire day and still not have seen all that it has to offer in great detail. I didn’t want to spend the entire day here though (even though I’ll be honest it was all amazingly interesting stuff) so I made strategic decisions about which exhibits I was going to browse longer. I think my favorite parts were the domes that were so intricately decorated above my head in so many parts of the museum. In fact, really when I think, Islamic art in general is incredibly intricately decorated. It’s truly a labor of love for these artists.

Read about our other Malaysian adventures: a tunnel through timetemple colorsgereja st georgehidden cakes @ china housejetty villagelocal hawker eatstemple lanternsmansion that’s blueup to penang hillsights atop penang hilltemple atop penang hillblack-domed mosqueincensekek lok si is pure bliss, part 1kek lok si is pure bliss, part 2red christ churcheating jonker streetreflectionkampung mortenup to st. paul’s hillinteractive street artview from the waterisland lovethe twinsmasjid negara

An artsy photo adventure:

kl-islamicart1

kl-islamicart2

kl-islamicart3

kl-islamicart4

kl-islamicart5

kl-islamicart6

kl-islamicart7

kl-islamicart8

kl-islamicart9

kl-islamicart10

One Response to “{kuala lumpur} all islamic art”

  1. annalice said

    wow so much detail into everything!

Leave a Reply

