{kuala lumpur} only for textiles

October 29, 2016

On my last day in Kuala Lumpur, I ran into a random man on the street who stressed that I really need to visit the National Textiles Museum. I had actually walked by it a few times in the previous days and thought about it but it was always already closed for the day or not open for whatever reason (national holidays and such). On my last day, after hearing what the random street man said, I decided to give the place another try and I’m so glad I did!

Not only was the museum free (which always makes things better), it was open when I walked by! Walking in, I didn’t really know what to expect, but as it turns out, it was such an interesting learning experience. I learned about the various fabrics and patterns that are prominent in each of the regions in Malaysia; I learned more about the various cultures that are required to live some-what harmoniously in the country; and I learned about all the various types of metal work that goes into making beautiful jewelry in particular for special events and weddings. What a neat and free way to spend a couple of hours in KL!

Read about our other Malaysian adventures: a tunnel through timetemple colorsgereja st georgehidden cakes @ china housejetty villagelocal hawker eatstemple lanternsmansion that’s blueup to penang hillsights atop penang hilltemple atop penang hillblack-domed mosqueincensekek lok si is pure bliss, part 1kek lok si is pure bliss, part 2red christ churcheating jonker streetreflectionkampung mortenup to st. paul’s hillinteractive street artview from the waterisland lovethe twinsmasjid negaraall islamic artmarket browsingmenaramasjid jamekbatu’s ramayanaup to temple cavemerdeka

A textile-filled photo adventure:

kl-textilemuseum1

kl-textilemuseum2

kl-textilemuseum3

kl-textilemuseum4

kl-textilemuseum5

kl-textilemuseum6

kl-textilemuseum7

kl-textilemuseum8

2 Responses to “{kuala lumpur} only for textiles”

  1. annalice said

    did you buy any souvenirs?

Leave a Reply

