{sf} it’s poki time!

November 5, 2016

I feel like recently poke (raw fish) bowls have become the new big thing, at least in San Francisco that is. OK, maybe not that recently, but it seems to be the hottest trend right now. There are poke bowl restaurants popping up all over the place. I’ve been eyeing a few that are on my weekly commute from one location to another. I finally got a chance to try one of them when I stopped in at Poki Time. While I’m not sure how the other poke bowl locations are set up, Poki Time is set up like a Hawaiian version of Chipotle.

Upon getting to the front of the line, you have to make some quick decisions.
1 – Pick your base: White rice, brown rice, Mixed greens, Kale, Half & Half
2 – Pick your fish: Salmon, Tuna, Yellowtail, Crabmeat, Spicy Tuna, Shrimp
3 – Pick your sauce: Original, Spicy Mayo, Ponzu, Wasabi, Spicy Seoul
4 – Pick Toppings: Too wild and broad an assortment to list here

For my first poke bowl ever, I picked white rice (because I’m a true Asian), Tuna, a Spicy Mayo & Ponzu sauce duo, and a broad assortment of toppings including tofu, corn, wasabi, green onions, edamame, masago, and ginger. While the price was a little steep, I’m still glad I got a chance to try this delicious bowl. Yum!

sf-pokitime1
My to-go poke bowl

sf-pokitime2
Up close and delicious

One Response to “{sf} it’s poki time!”

  1. annalice said

    me and junie tried a poke bowl place in nyc!!

Leave a Reply

