{nyc} japan’s flirtation with the west

November 30, 2016

sisterposts-header

A few weeks ago I had a friend visiting New York City and I wanted to find well-rated places around where I lived that we could go for dinner. I found Hi-Collar and when I saw omurice on the menu, I was sold. Omurice is basically an omelet with tomato sauce rice and I remember that my mother used to make her own version of it when we was young. Unfortunately, Hi-Collar turns into a sake bar at night and doesn’t serve their signature food and coffee in the evening. So, the next day we decided to go for lunch!

The place had a little bit of a wait time because the whole restaurant is a bar with around 12 seats. Hi-Collar is known for their coffee which is made right in front of you at the counter. The whole place is so, so cute and you really feel like you’ve taken a trip back into vintage Japan.

ammagrace-nyc-highcollar1

I had read about their “gold-encrusted” bathroom online and I knew that I had to see it. The entire bathroom’s walls are made with tiny little golden bars and they even have one of those advanced  Japanese toilets, the ToTo Washlet, that rinse your butt for you! I loved the bathroom; I thought it was the cutest thing.

ammagrace-nyc-highcollar2

Now on to the food, my friend and I both ordered the Omurice. It was delicious. The omelet was incredibly fluffy and the bacon in the tomato rice was the perfect touch. I would highly recommend this dish. Although I am not a huge coffee fan, I knew I had to try it. I ordered the Cold Brew “Mizudashi” Iced Coffee while my friend ordered the Siphon. I didn’t enjoy mine, but that’s only because I have a hard time enjoying coffee. I guess it went down very smooth and the copper mug kept it very cold. My friend tried it and said it was incredible coffee, so I trust her on that one. She also really enjoyed her siphon. Overall, a great experience.

ammagrace-nyc-highcollar3

One Response to “{nyc} japan’s flirtation with the west”

  1. annalice said

    looks like an overall expensive experience hahah

Leave a Reply

