[good reads] diary of a fat girl

January 8, 2017

Happy Birthday Junie!

goodreads-header

goodreads-diaryfatgirlI recently pulled my ipad out from my box of not often used electronics. I used to use this thing everyday at school so it’s filled with educational apps. There’s no time for that now though. Anyway, even though I usually like reading paper copies of books, I decided to go on a digital binge. There are tons of free books out there and though there’s no guarantee that any of them are good, I also don’t feel super invested to continue reading if I don’t like something, so it works out well.

The first book I started reading got deleted because it was no good. The second was Diary of a Fat Girl by Moira Mugweni. This book isn’t particularly well written or anything, but it was an interesting read taken from the perspective of an overweight teen who happens to be an identical twin. I like the detail of the main character Bernadette being an identical twin because it adds in an extra layer of interest. Bern is not just “the fat girl”, but one who is constantly being compared to a twin who she “should” look the same as. This twin is, of course, super skinny and competes in pageants and the like. Makes the story line a little deeper requiring a bit more development in the characters, which is a positive, because otherwise, the book would have been a bore! Most positive is the fact that the story is chock-full of positive female role models for teenage girls.

One Response to “[good reads] diary of a fat girl”

  1. annalice said

    I have a ton of books on my ipad if you are ever interested and want some more!

Leave a Reply

