{philadelphia} amish doughnuts

February 22, 2017

sisterposts-header

A couple weekends ago, a college friend visited me in Philadelphia, so I took it as an opportunity to do some touristy exploring. Of course, one of our first stops was Reading Terminal Market, an indoor Farmer’s Market that opened in 1892, where you can find produce, meats, prepared foods, housewares, and area specialties.

Although I had been to Reading Terminal before, my previous visit was on a Sunday, where many shops were closed. Upon further investigation, it looked like all of the shops with Amish owners are closed on Sunday, which makes sense, given that Sunday is occupied by going to church!

I’m glad I went on a Saturday this time, because I needed to try the Amish-owned Beiler’s doughnuts. The line for Beiler’s snaked around half of the Market and although it moves quickly, we probably waited close to half an hour to buy these tasty pastries.

attrace-amishdonuts1
A baker rolling out the raw dough and cutting out doughnut shapes

attrace-amishdonuts2
Another worker icing the freshly baked hot doughnuts

attrace-amishdonuts3
The finished doughnuts – don’t they just look delicious?

The doughnuts were delicious, but to be honest, I’m not sure I would wait in that line again – next time, I’ll have to visit on a weekday, when I’m sure I could be in and out and still have my fill of delicious doughnuts!

~attrace

One Response to “{philadelphia} amish doughnuts”

  1. annalice said

    did you try the apple cider doughnuts? those are famous!

Leave a Reply

