[good reads] fantastic beats and where to find them

March 26, 2017

I’ve been meaning to read and see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling. I happened to be at the San Francisco Public Library children’s section and saw it just sitting there in the NEW section. Of course I could not pass up the chance since it was available!

I was a little worried when I started reading the book that perhaps I would have a hard time following. I feel like screenplays and scripts are a bit more difficult to understand as compared to novels and short stories. In the end, I didn’t have too much trouble following who was who, which I appreciated. I think the way that Rowling introduced the characters slowly allowed me not to get lost, though I did have a hard time understanding who Mary Lou and the children were at first.

I think it’s so neat that Rowling was willing to write this book especially since it gives more insight into the Harry Potter world and how the magical realm is outside of Great Britain. In case you didn’t know, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them occurs in New York City, so we get introduced to a whole new country of witches, wizards, and muggles (who in the U.S. are called No-Majs). I wish there were drawings of all the fantastic beasts we are introduced to in the book though, because it’s quite difficult to imagine all of them!

2 Responses to “[good reads] fantastic beats and where to find them”

  1. annalice said

    wow! didnt realize she wrote this!

  2. your interests are varied

Leave a Reply

