[good reads] brave new world

July 23, 2017

I guess I’ve been really into reading about futuristic dystopian societies recently like in 1984 and The Handmaid’s Tale. Most recently, I read Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World. I feel like Brave New World is one of those books that you read in high school, but for some reason in my high school English classes we never read it. I do think some of the classes read them though because I remember seeing many copies around in the library. In any case, Brave New World is perhaps even scarier than both 1984 and The Handmaid’s Tale only because people seem to have more liberty and freedom and yet are completely brainwashed. I mean, babies are born and bred in the hatchery. Sex is a completely non-relational thing. People essentially don’t have relationships or even families anymore. It’s scary! Of course, like in the other books, this “Brave New World” was created because things had become so bad that everyone thought there must be a better way and so the powers at be agreed. I guess the question is, is it better to live in a scary totalitarian society (like the other two books) or one where you are just completely brainwashed? Hmmm … Of course, I suppose all totalitarian governments involve themselves in brainwashing …

One Response to “[good reads] brave new world”

  1. annalice said

    I read this book in high school! you didnt? weird…but I actually really enjoyed this book!

Leave a Reply

